Skip to content

This guide provides instructions and information about Stanford Web Services Jumpstart platform, based on Drupal 7.

We've released our new Stanford Sites on Drupal 8 (D8) platform — the new framework for Stanford Sites in 2020 and beyond. Check out our new User Guide to help you set up your website on the D8 platform. 

Read more about our road to D8 

Site Member Role

In order to view a Private Page a user must be assigned the Site Member role. Individuals with a SUNet ID or workgroups can be added as Site Members. Once they've logged in through WebAuth, a Site Member only has the ability to view a Private Page and cannot make any changes to the page or to other parts of the site.

Note: to add or edit a Private Page, a user must be granted the Editor or Site Owner role.

How to install the Site Member role

The Site Member role is installed automatically when the Private Page feature in enabled.

How to add a Site Member

  1. Have the user log in to the site by clicking SUNet Login in the top-right corner.
  2. From a site owner account, hover over Site Actions and select Manage Users.
  3. Click edit next to the user account you wish to make changes to.
  4. Check the Site Member box.
  5. Click Save.

Mapping a workgroup to the Site Member role

  1. From an admin account, hover over Configuration and select Stanford SSO.
  2. Click the Role Mappings tab on the top right of the page.
  3. From the drop down menu under Drupal Role, select Site Member.
  4. Input the name of the workgroup you wish to use in the text box under Workgroup.
  5. Click the Add Mappings button.

Deleting a Site Member role mapped workgroup

Deleting a Site Member role mapped workgroup will remove the group's ability to view Private Pages.

  1. From an admin account, hover over Configuration and select WebAuth.
  2. Click the Role Mappings tab on the top right of the page.
  3. Click the Remove Mapping button next to the workgroup you wish to delete.